Zambia Embassy Brussels

Switch to desktop

African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP)



  Caribbean group
  East and South Africa group

  Pacific group
  West African group
  Southern African group
  Central African group
  East Africa group

The African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP) is an organisation created by the Georgetown Agreement in 1975. It is composed of African, Caribbean and Pacific States signatories to the Georgetown Agreement or the Partnership Agreement between the ACP and the European Union, officially called the "ACP-EC Partnership Agreement" or the "Cotonou Agreement". The Group consists of 79 Member-States, all of them, except Cuba, are signatories to the Cotonou Agreement which binds them to the European Union: 48 countries from Sub-Saharan Africa, 16 from the Caribbean and 15 from the Pacific.

However, over the years, cooperation with the European Union has gone beyond development cooperation. It now covers a variety of fields spanning from trade, economics, politics and culture, as well as in diverse international fora such as the World Trade Organisation (WTO).

Cooperation between the European Union and the ACP Group began in 1975 with the First Lome Convention but however, the origin of this type of partnership dates back to the birth of Europe (Treaty of Rome) itself as an organised regional entity. In fact, it is the Treaty of Rome created that created an avenue for cooperation with the Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs).


The ACP Group´s main objectives are;-

(i) sustainable development of its Member-States and their gradual integration into the global economy, which entails making poverty reduction a matter of priority and establishing a new, fairer, and more equitable world order;

(ii) coordination of the activities of the ACP Group in the framework of the implementation of ACP-EC Partnership Agreements;

(iii) consolidation of unity and solidarity among ACP States, as well as understanding among their peoples;

(iv) establishment and consolidation of peace and stability in a free and democratic society.

Currently Zambia is a member of the Standing Committee on Social Affairs and Environment.

For more information, follow the link below:

Last Updated on Tuesday, 21 August 2012 10:36

Hits: 2818

Read more: Zambia-ACP Information

General Contact The Embassy opens from 9.00 to 13.00 from Monday to Fridays excluding Zambian and Belgium holidays Sablon Tower Rue Joseph Steven 7 1000 Brussels Tel: +32 (0)2 893 21 73 Email: And

Top Desktop version

corporate2 Are you sure that you want to switch to desktop version?